Poets logo

One Cold and Cloudy Rise

A strange encounter

By Robert TrakoflerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Photo by author

One cold and cloudy rise caught caws of calling crows

Though chill did match my heart I ambled to the scene

Caught sight of Countless corvids circling in throws

My melancholy eyes took flight in frolics flow

Black dashes dip and dart as far as I could see

One cold and cloudy rise caught charm of calling crows

My exhales turned to sighs to view this grace bestow

To witness living arts impressionistic seen

Catch sight of Countless corvids circling in throws

A tear dropped from my eye to spot the solemn show

A single crows depart the source of this grieving

One Cold and cloudy rise caught cause of calling crows

This funerary flight that set my soul aglow

In gratitude impart compose this song I sing

Caught sight of Countless corvids circling in throws

I pray with all my might that vision never goes

When all around seems stark I’ll find the hidden springs

One Cold and cloudy rise caught caws of calling crows

Catch sight of Countless corvids circling in throws

© 2020 Robert Trakofler

Living in the city I don't often get to see nature as often as I wish, on one fateful morning I had the good fortune to discover a large murder of crows in the strip district of Pittsburgh where I buy produce for my restaurant. Having recently just purchased a quantity of bread I excitedly hurried over to film them in an abandoned lot next to the river. what I discovered was the phenomenom of a crow funeral. after I finished filming them swooping down and eating the bounty I fed them, I walked over to a tree beyond the fence to find a dead crow. I later read that this is a common occurance among the corvid family of birds, I have always had an affection for them having been brought up on Edgar Allen Poe (my mother would recite from memory many of his poems when I was a child) Every year I always try to catch them on their annual migration, But on this day I got very lucky and the inspiration for this poem came from this experience.

A poem, a picture, a video, and even a murder of crows are nothing without a witness and for yours, I am always grateful! Thank you

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Robert TrakoflerWritten by Robert Trakofler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.