Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

one and only

he tells me

By ⸘jason alan‽Published 23 days ago 1 min read
3
Sabian Symbol 190, Libra 9-10°, "A canoe approaching safety through dangerous waters"

he tells me that he loves me

but he only says it in the dark

only with mystery and danger

when we can’t see who we are

he tells me that he needs me

then he pushes me away

won't let me get too close

and there he begs me to stay

he tells me i am his one and only

he never loved before we met

but i am only one of many

so much potential he now regrets

he tells me that i have done him wrong

with the love i have tried to share

but he says he doesn’t love himself

so my love can only go nowhere

what this means to me: loving someone can be painful, but being loved NEVER should. words and concepts are only as great and powerful as the actions and efforts used to reinforce and support them. a mere idea is nothing until someone makes manifest the thought. it's unfortunate, the amount of potential that is forfeit and disrupted when much of the modern world so shies from showing or exposing too much of how they really feel, and from anyone else who does - "so much potential he now regrets"

sad poetrysocial commentaryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeCONTENT WARNINGart
3

About the Creator

⸘jason alan‽

:::WARNING:::

i am only responsible for what i say

:::WARNING:::

not for what you understand

:::WARNING:::

you may learn to be charmed by my [secret‽] discontent

:::WARNING:::

or you may not

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran22 days ago

    This was so poignant and true. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.