Poets logo

Once upon a Time

That Day

By Allie LopezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

That day...

I awakened from a light and anxious sleep,

Ready to take on a new world with you.

Ready to face a fear, created by heartbreak you didn't do.

Gave up my father's name to honor you.

I couldn't take my eyes off of you.

I knew in my heart, everyday, I'd choose you.

I had a doubt, or two, but they didn't change anything; I trusted you.

A little fear lingered that you wouldn't always choose me too.

It all felt so comfortable and casual until the "I do's"

My eyes flooded with tears, you hadn't walked away,

So it became real!

Your arms wrapped around me so tightly, as you whispered "I love you" into my ear

Inundating my existence with an overwhelming sentiment of trust and safety, love and friendship,

Nothing could go wrong in my life with you here.

I wish I could go back to this moment here,

Feel your arms around me and your heart beat in my ear.

Fuck. I hate this. I love you. I'm so confused and filled with fear.

🖤A.Lopez

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.