Poets logo

On the pyre

By Victor Edmunds Published 2 months ago 1 min read
Like
On the pyre
Photo by Louis KIRNER on Unsplash

Throw me on the pyre

And set me on fire

Cause in this life

Is nothing but strife

Why must it be this way?

‘Why can’t it be easier?’ I ask with dismay

But all I seem to get

Are blank stares from people I’ve never met

Bury me alive

Rather not be a part of the hive

Being told what to think

Is no better than going to the shrink

Trapped in the oppressive dark

Just trying to make my mark

I doubt I’ll ever find the key

That will be used to set me free

And here I still fight

Against an impossible might

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Edmunds

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    It is for sure that life is hard! I guess it was not meant to be easy - why? No one knows.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.