Poets logo

On the nature of

The immeasurable

By Pauline FountainPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
8
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

A beloved friend of mine asked me to write her a poem to help her better articulate a rapid mental health decline; her return to a frightening life in the dreaded wilderness.

A chance to view through the eyes of another.

Then perhaps gain more insight and even understanding?

Perhaps if that was indeed possible?

Could it help her to accept the fallout of her life now broken?

Perhaps one day to heal?

To experience peace?

Naturally I willingly agreed.

But then, I too became acutely unwell and never wrote her poem, as was promised.

My poem, dedicated to her, is below.

*

Sometimes at our lowest we need rest, care and acknowledgement.

Our suffering and distress is hard for some to fathom.

Even by those most dear to us.

Are they doubtful or frightened by the immeasurable?

My dear friend’s suffering and distress manifests as profound grief, guilt and misery.

Misery caused by trauma.

She has fallen into great and unremitting pain.

Beyond hurt, melancholy or worriment; torture and torment.

Afflicted by a wretchedness that threatens her spirit.

However, I see a woman of courage and strength.

Faultless.

Will she get through this?

Yes.

Why?

Because her name is Hannah.

My beloved ‘palindrome.’

‘It’s here in all the pieces of my shame

That now I find myself again.

I yearn to belong to something, to be contained

In an all-embracing mind that sees me …’

Rainer Maria Rilke (1875 - 1926.)

*

If you too have dwelled in the dreaded wilderness; traumatised and alone by the immeasurable.

Perhaps an opportunity for hope,

We are both well to the best of our capacity now. Experiencing acceptance and peace.

Achieving, in ways measurable to us with unyielding gratitude.

Me?

I’ve returned to Vocal+ after an extended hiatus and I’m writing again!

The genuine interactions with other creatives fills me with joy in even the darkest times. The reads, hearts and Subscriptions! The comments, to and fro.

I would like to make a special mention. I sincerely thank the impact of the the ‘Vocal + Assist’ Facebook Group. I hope those within the group understand my deep and abiding gratitude for your support.

Alone no more I am rediscovering myself in an online sphere of the like minded.

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Adequately composed 📝 with Deep Vulnerability ❤️❗

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Anyone who has experienced deep mental anguish will relate to your piece, Pauline. It's something that most still struggle to articulate well, because our vocabulary hasn't expanded enough yet to encompass that kind of experiences. That's why poems like yours are important. Thank you!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Very emotional poem 🥹❤️ Wonderfully done, Pauline!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Terrific sentiments Pauline! ☺️👍✨How kind of you to write something for your friend.

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    Sometimes the most giving thing we can do is tell people we are there for them, they are seen, heard and understood. I think you achieved that for your friend with your poem ❤️

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Your poem for Hannah is a sweet measure of your love and respect for her. Your demonstration of friendship is priceless. 🥰

  • Awww, that was such a powerful and beautiful poem for Hannah! Hope she's doing better now. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.