Poets logo

The writing grant

My ‘capacity’ revealed

By Pauline FountainPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
11
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Throughout this process I had learned.

And perhaps this was the point?

*

A writing grant could enable yet constrain.

My capacity always tested with two factors to consider.

My ability to achieve, despite the unyielding.

To achieve, ever mindful of the potential for deteriorating mental health.

*

I had no intension of applying.

I knew my capacity to succeed was questionable.

*

Still exhausted from readying my submission for the ‘Next Chapter Grant: an opportunity to discover new writers from suburbia.’

My application was a compilation of existing work; plus three newly completed chapters from a planned for Novella.

Sequential chapters or excepts of no consequence.

What were they looking for?

A demonstration of an engaging pitch.

When completed, there was potential to succeed in the commercial market.

The skills to manage the two year funded grant’s budget and reporting obligations.

To ensure completion within the time frame constraints.

The reward?

The completed from the chosen.

Published and promoted.

‘The Next Chapter Grant: an opportunity to discover new writers from suburbia.’

Discover me!

My poetry!

My Novella!

I thought it a given.

Only to be rejected.

My capacity was lacking and I knew my skills did not meet those of the broader requirements.

*

And then?

A new Grant opportunity arrived by invitation.

I had no intension of applying.

I knew my capacity to succeed was questionable.

I fought my anxiety and applied via the designated essay format; regardless of existing uncomfortable parameters.

A grant that required writing to another’s prescribed brief within a group project environment.

Group projects made me shudder; memories from my University studies.

And then?

A phone-call revealed my application was successful!

I would participate, regardless of my understanding that the parameters were uncomfortable for me.

An author that by legal decree would remain anonymous.

Anonymous without the ability to add to further grant applications.

Anonymous; for others to discover.

Not able to confirm if I was the author.

Writing to another’s prescribed brief within a group.

Though our individual chapters would inevitably explore different avenues regarding the trauma that impacted on our lives.

The focus, was that trauma had launched our mental illnesses.

I had no intension of applying.

And yet it did!

Over the 9 months my capacity was revealed.

I felt the loss.

Deadlines once easily met, were now missed.

I sent apologies.

Each time pleading for an extension on the deadline.

With promises that it would not happen again.

But it did.

Writing my chapter exploring trauma and my mental illness, hurt.

Yet I would accomplish; nonetheless.

I was rigorously determined despite my obstacles.

From rigorously determined to published!

*

And so?

I feel a burden lifting.

Relief!

A deadline met yet the project not quite birthed.

It’s still a while until the private launch on August 24 2019.

A healing?

Worth it?

Yes.

It has been hard.

It had hurt.

It was difficult, raw and disturbing.

Throughout, my home was in disarray and contributed to my mental suffering.

My yearning was on ice.

During the gestation my want to write for myself had caused duress.

I feel a burden lifting!

Relief!

And so?

Today back to cleaning!

My haven returning; mending my mind.

Each object and trinket has substance.

I understand their meaning. I reflect on this as I place and position each.

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

I’m cooking again!

Rice paper rolls.

Lunch in my home with a friend.

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Perhaps that vision board is working?

And so?

It seems.

Today, ‘I am enough.’

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

*

This writing grant revealed my capacity struggle.

My mental health had seriously deteriorated in the end.

*

Perhaps to blame was the outcome and the impact compared to my imagined?

I was now a published author of a chapter in a best selling book that by legal decree left me anonymous.

Anonymous without the ability to add to further grant applications.

Anonymous; for others to discover.

Not able to confirm that I am the author.

*

Through this process I had learned.

And perhaps this was the point?

*

Right now?

Vocal+ best meets my need to write and reflect wth meaning on my life.

I write with embedded photographs and videos.

My intent, to further engage the reader’s senses.

Vocal+ is my place to read and discover.

My place to enjoy the wonderment.

My place to truely engage and interact with other authors.

Vocal+ is my place; an online global publishing platform and community for creatives.

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    It felt like I was going through it with you. Love the pictures you share with the poem 😊

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    You covered so many things I think many people are afraid of in our writing. And you faced it with tenacity. Wether your name is on it or not, you achieved something so many people only ever dream about ❤️

  • This was quite a journey you took us on Pauline Congratulations on being a published author even if it is anonymous

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    I loved the introspect in this ❤️ Wonderfully honest; a beautiful read! 🥹❤️

  • Oneg In The Arctic11 months ago

    Today, we are enough.

  • Pauline, such a deep recitation of emotion, fear, and strength. You captured so many feelings here. Great job!

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    Very honest and introspective. Great writing Pauline! Yeah deadlines and pressures attack us from everywhere in life, and when it comes to something creative like writing, it can affect it even more. I'm glad you pushed through it, and hopefully writing here is better for you now. I myself just write as a hobby and to process ideas in my head, so I do enjoy writing in vocal; I can write in any format I want (story, articles or poems), and I can learn from others on here as well which is nice

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Pauline, it was very emotional and genuine! I totally agree with what Dharrsheena wrote below. It's so much more pleasant to write.on your own terms, without opressing deadlines!🤗

  • Oh Pauline, I'm so sorry your mental health deteriorated so much 🥺 I'm so happy you found Vocal. There's no deadline to meet anymore unless you're writing for challenges. But other than that, you can write on your own terms. You can write what you want, when you want and take however long you want to complete it. As usual, your pictures were beautiful. Sending you lots of hugs and love ❤️🥹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.