Poets logo

On How to Heal a Broken Soul

Poetry Collection

By Jade HadfieldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
On How to Heal a Broken Soul
Photo by Jack B on Unsplash

A Timid Beginning

Please carve your promise

into the paper

of my soul,

hurried charcoal

to be erased,

don't crack the stone

of my heart,

just to watch

it break,

permanence is perverse,

considered sin

by most our age,

we could be taboo,

but I don't want

to be a phase.

...

A Voice That's Never Good Enough

I'm sorry

if I talk too much,

I'm terrified of silence,

the way it slithers

down my throat,

I'll start to choke;

and with harsh hums

and quiet woes

the void within

a timid soul

will feast,

and I'll never

speak again.

...

And Once Again, We Fall

If you were stuck,

upon a mountain top,

I'd climb till I were bruised.

Of heights, I'm scared,

but nothing compares,

to the thought

of losing you.

...

Anti-Venom

Your love is a killer,

to a monster deeply hidden,

who waits for words that sting,

to pass lips numbed by liquor.

Sing your sweet lullabies,

to torture nightmares beast,

lurking in the shadows,

may the syrup drown the sorrow

She grows where poison flows,

so feed her cotton candy rivers,

until her lungs fill with clouds

holding the sun in place of thunder.

...

On Past Lovers

I have soared

through the flames

felt the fire

singe my wings

I am an angel

tinged with ash,

and though below

is where I dwell,

I have survived.

You haven't

killed me

yet.

...

Escape Artists

Let me take you on a journey,

we'll ride the moon through waves,

with a stars illumination

shining magic on your face,

fly at my pace,

let's breathe the midnight dew,

and set the frozen night

alight with magic, new.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jade Hadfield

A writer by both profession and passion. Sharing my stories about mental health, and my journey to becoming a better writer.

Facebook: @jfhadfieldwriter

Instagram: @jfhadfield

Twitter: @jfhadfield

Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/jadehadfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.