Poets logo

On Being a Man

Learning how to hold disappointment

By F Cade SwansonPublished about a month ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
43
On Being a Man
Photo by Luke Pennystan on Unsplash

“You’re a pretty big wheel, ain’t you?”

my grandfather asks.

Words tossed my way

from a green armchair

in the dark corner of the front room

of his Appalachian home.

It’s like an impromptu game of catch,

his words propelled with disdain

(bewilderment?)

at the soft boy standing in his home.

Maybe it’s my dad’s fault.

Surely it’s my dad’s fault.

Mom has told me it’s my dad’s fault.

Mom uses heavy, sticky words like grandpa does.

This was her dad.

I was nothing like the men my grandfather knew:

strong, dominant brutes with calloused hands

whose days were spent underground

in the dark coal mines of Kentucky,

where the beauty of my grandfather’s otherworldly ice blue eyes

went mercifully unnoticed.

The men he knew lived in perpetual darkness,

entering the mines in the morning before dawn

and exiting at dusk,

the blackness seeping into their lungs

and slowly, painfully robbing them of air.

These men didn’t waste their breath

on unnecessary words.

My dad, the man my mother chose,

relishes the light,

his sensitive hazel eyes perpetually watery from being outside.

His hands are soft,

in spite of years of janitorial work before he joined the military,

reflections of his days working retail

and the brief time he taught high school history.

His words are too plentiful to be heavy or sharp,

like a constant barrage of ping pong balls that,

while irritating if beamed in your direction,

are never dense enough to leave a scar or sting when they hit you.

But the heavy sticky words my grandfather threw at me?

My mom taught me to catch them all

in my small, soft hands,

and not let them fall.

Hold some in my heart.

Hold some in my head.

Hold the weight of others like a hammer or pickaxe,

feel their burn like flares from a stick of dynamite

until my hands, too, became calloused.

I stare at him awkwardly, waiting for direction.

My mother is nowhere to be found

but also deeply present.

I respond to him like my father would.

“I guess I am, Grandpa. I guess I am a pretty big wheel.”

He glares at me,

those blue eyes glowing in the dark corner of the room.

He raises his strong, thick hand

like he’s going to strike me.

Watches me to see if I flinch.

Waits for me to retreat.

Waits for me to fall.

He reaches out, squeezes my shoulder hard,

and expels a deep disappointed sigh

(my mother learned that from him, as well)

as I turn and walk away.

sad poetryheartbreakFamily
43

About the Creator

F Cade Swanson

Queer dad from Virginia now living and writing in the Pacific Northwest. Dad poems, sad poems, stories about life. Read more at fcadeswanson.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler13 days ago

    Oh, F Cade, this is haunting and beautifully written, right down to your very word choices. (I especially LOVE the phrase heavy, sticky words). The family dynamics are so raw and real. I can't wait to read your other pieces!

  • Sian N. Cluttonabout a month ago

    The expectations of others can be a heavy weight to carry. I honestly believe that it can be the downfall of a lot of relationships, especially when those expectations are unspoken and simply assumed. This was a great read. I'm sure many of us have experienced this judgement in one way or another.

  • Addy Gillabout a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story

  • Your moving look at family relationships and masculinity strikes a deep chord, eloquently expressing the weight of expectations and statements that are passed down through the generations with unfiltered sensitivity.

  • Amelia Mapstoneabout a month ago

    Wow... what a well-written, thought-provoking, heart-wrenching piece of your psyche and life story... thank you so much for sharing it the way you did. God bless you and your family. 🙏💗🕊️

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • PK Colleranabout a month ago

    Sadly universal. The power of words to wound.... Or to heal. Beautifully written.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    It feels heavy. You have summarized the points very cleverly. Top notched.

  • Sandra Matosabout a month ago

    This is such a sad and poignant poem. Your use of imagery is beautiful and on point, and your words flow easily from one sentence to the next. I can feel those "Heavy, sticky words." I've had to catch many of those. This poem was sad but also a great read. Congratulations on a well-deserved top story!

  • Maci Keeterabout a month ago

    This story is wonderful. I can feel the pain with your words on my screen. You find the best way to capture the essence of disappointment. I know exactly how you feel. This brought back memories. Keep up the incredible work. You inspire.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Jean McKinneyabout a month ago

    Beautifully written. Like the best poems do, this one opens a window into deeper things.

  • Carol Townendabout a month ago

    This is a very sad and profound poem. Reading it broke my heart. You are not a disappointment to anyone. One day, you'll find it in your heart to see who you are underneath those harsh words. This poem sends out a strong message that actions and words can break the delicate heart and mind of a growing child.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I think this will stick with me like your grandfather's words. I have known these types who don't have much to say, but I've not forgotten what they have said. Your poem is excellent. Congrats on the TS.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I love that your mom taught you to be bold and strong and that you see wonder in your dad. I love that you didn't flinch from Grandpa. Opposites attract, right? So your mom and dad make a great couple for you to bounce between. Loved this poem!! Nobody is disappointed in you - it is in themselves. Congrats on TS.

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! What a heavy poem. Each word feels so carefully chosen. This is one of the best poems I've ever read.

  • My Life care ideasabout a month ago

    Great

  • Testabout a month ago

    Congratulations on TS.

  • Testabout a month ago

    Great poem. Very sad.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Every line used with meaning, like his grandfather, non wasted. A Picture is formed in ones mind as we read this and the emotions hang heavy. Congratulations

  • Marie Wilsonabout a month ago

    Excellent work. Everything perfect. Really. Just a delight to read.

  • Sanjana Dixitabout a month ago

    So deep!

  • Muhammed Adeiza Sumailaabout a month ago

    It is good

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    FANTASTIC! what emotion is demonstrated from this. love it.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a month ago

    Powerful, vulnerable, deeply moving words. Thank you for sharing this reflection 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.