Poets logo

On Becoming a Great Writer

a form of art

By Anna cruzPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
On Becoming a Great Writer
Photo by Cathryn Lavery on Unsplash

Writing words I long to aspire

Losing my senses as to admire

I don’t know if its fate

That I should write at a future date

With my thoughts in hand

I have no reason for which to stand

My words grow empty and alone

Only to become magnificently shone

I wish to write like Emerson

Or even like Tennison.

I long to write great fables

Inspiration from my kitchen table

What is it I long for?

I have tried many times before

To write from the heart

And create art

I find my paper to be a blank canvas

As I try to create at dawn in Kansas

The words can’t come out

As I dream I’m out and about

My observations are my guide

My sources begin to slide

As my words start a fire

Extinguish my soul as to retire

I have met no words yet

That symbolizes what's best

I grow weary

As my emotions make me teary

What is a great poet?

And what is a great laureate?

How should I write?

Should I be mean or just be polite?

How do I discover my voice?

When I finally do I will rejoice.

Want to be a great writer

Continue to be a great fighter

Never give up on your dreams

No matter how hard it seems

Expel your words with full content

Make your words completely potent

Words set ablaze on paper

Become as dangerous as a saber

Comments made to astonish

Utter sentences that admonish

Insightful, intelligent, and brighter.

I want to be a great writer

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Anna cruz

I like writing short stories and poetry. I like to blog about thrifting and many other subjects. I hope you enjoy my writing. Read my blog at www.savingshouse.blogspot.com and visit my website at www.vintageoldtreasures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.