Poets logo

On All The Unfinished Poems

Accepting Incompleteness

By Kay HusnickPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
On All The Unfinished Poems
Photo by Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

I am half-writing poetry in droves. One line down, and the page is flipped again for something wholely new.

My thoughts have become puzzle pieces scattered in a 20-gallon tote, the pictures unknown so I sort by gut instinct.

This one goes here, I think. Maybe? It could; I could make it work.

Or maybe I'll rearrange it all later. I'll find the corners, find a point to expand upon until the picture becomes clear.

Some pieces will sit forever, abandoned as everything around them begins to make sense. I will wonder someday where the rest of them went,

but for now, I am learning to be okay with incompleteness.

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    It's important for us to be okay with this - thank you for bringing it to light. I'm sure many writers feel the same way!

  • I have so many phone notes like this.. in C addition to notebooks 😁 so many. Some days I get a speak of inspiration to return and they are easily completed.. others may never be 💜 thanks for sharing this, it’s very relatable!

  • Lol 😆 I can relate ♥️💯🚨✌️📝😉I have poems from the summertime still in my Drafts…

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Good for you. Maybe someday you'll finish this one... Just kidding. I know how it feels to leave fragments of your work and wonder what to do with them. Take your time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.