Poets logo

Old Wounds, More Scars

I am here, I'm hurting too

By Amy BellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Old Wounds, More Scars
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

Every word, every action

Judged and remembered

What is said and what’s not

What’s done and what isn’t

Obligation and expectation

Nothing escapes

So a time has come

Now it feels hollow and fake

There was a time where I tried

But somehow it seems

My efforts went unnoticed

With the good forgotten

Or simply unheard

For what should I fight

When nothing is seen

But your wounds and hers

Why can’t you see

The scars that I carry

Why don’t you remember

The attacks I received

After so many times

Why I am still

Waiting for you

A simple question

Or just checking in

Why don’t you ask

When a fight is done

If I’m ok

Or how are my wounds

Still time goes on

Unheard I seem

While once again

I’m stabbed

With that same knife

A fragile bond

To which I hold on

All my grievances

Buried and hidden

All for fear

That speaking out

Will break beyond repair

That fragile bond

To which I hold on

With each time

I tried to speak up

To share a little of my pain

I get shut down

And suddenly somehow

It seems to be

All my fault

Or imagined by me

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Amy Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.