Poets logo

Old Soul

A poem about the price of wisdom

By D'Shan BerryPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Old Soul
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

People have called me an "old soul"

Since I was just a kid;

Amazed by my youthful knowledge.

The price, I always hid.

Precocious wisdom came at cost

Of growing up too fast.

The traumas within my childhood

Leaving me scars which last.

My twin died while still in the womb,

And grief first touched my soul.

Though I never got to know him,

His absence left a hole.

At four, I needed surgery;

My ribcage to repair.

They had to start my heart again.

I nearly died right there.

My second grade teacher slapped me,

But I said not a peep

Knowing no one would believe me,

A secret I would keep.

That secret brought isolation,

Leaving me like a stray.

Making me an easy target

Vulnerable, like prey.

There was a friend of the fam'ly,

No one gave him a thought.

He sexually abused me

Leaving me overwrought.

Then, my fifth grade teacher shamed me;

In front of all, I cried.

Humiliation, the last straw,

Making me want to die.

All of this, before I was twelve;

Of course, my soul is old!

Damaged, but wise from my troubles,

My story is now told.

inspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

D'Shan Berry

I love words. I love art. I love Jesus.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I'm so sorry this happened to you 🥺 Unfortunately, a few of those had happened to me too so I was able to relate.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.