Poets logo

Old Photos

A poem about the comfort old photos give me

By Rasma RaistersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Old photos provide comfort to me, taking me back to yesterday. So much time has passed but they comfort me and take me back to the places and faces that used to be. I return to these days with every old photo I see and relive it all once more in my daydreams. It seems that was such a simple time, and there were many smiles while in the photos my family and friends wave to me and give me a feeling of comfort when I can see it all again.

I turn the page, and there I see places from the past, a house, a road, a place, and then in my mind, I drift a while, feeling that it all just happened and the years haven’t flown by. Faces long gone but not forgotten smile at me from the old photos and it comforts and warms my heart knowing that someday once more together we’ll be.

Old photos return me to the holidays we all shared, the happy times through them I relive. Such comforting feelings knowing I still remember, and it seems I can reach out and touch each one. Then I see the little girl whose parents always decorated the biggest and brightest Christmas tree. Such a miracle, each one was towering over little me. The colorful bulbs, the ornaments, and the tinsel were so dazzling, the presents making my heart beat faster.

Childhood seems so long ago but old photos bring it all back to me. What comfort to see it all again, summers in the Catskill Mountains playing with friends and building sand castles. There I am with my big beach ball and I still can remember where and when. So comforting looking at it all again, and in my mind, the pictures take on a new life.

Looking at old photos of young adulthood Saturday nights with disco music and lights flashing I sit back and I can listen to the beat and see the colorful lights. Remembering how special it all was sharing it with my friends on the streets of New York City life in the fast lane, tripping the light fantastic. Page by page the photos remind me of a time that won’t come again but they bring me comfort for they let me see it all once more.

Old photos transport me back to my hometown New York. To the teeming streets and the crowds but there are special moments only frozen in time I see as the sunsets gleamed making all the skyscraper windows golden or in the early morning before the streets filled up seeing all around a reddish glow. Down by the rivers where the sun created diamonds upon the rippling water and I say thank you for bringing it all back to me.

Flashing through the years in fast-forward mode, love finally found me. How comforting it is to see you still smiling at me in old photos or waving from afar. It is like they take me back, and you are with me once more. Then knowing that there will be a day when you reach for me for now I can find comfort in seeing our life once more and that is the best there can be.

When I put old photos aside, I feel so good having taken a journey to the past. Then I look into my mirror and there in front of me stands a little girl the one I used to be. As she waves to me I am glad that she is still alive in me and that when there are days I am sad and blue to find comfort I look through my old photos and the smiles return to me.

art
Like

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.