Poets logo

Old Couple Sitting on a Bench

Poetic thoughts

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
16

Do you ever see a couple sitting on a bench, and wonder a little too much about what brought them to that point,

no not on the bench, but to that point in their lives, the highs the lows, the fast, the slow, the ups, the downs, the in and outs,

the soft shoe shuffle and raspy sernade, the hurtful words and painful tears, births, marriages, deaths, suicides,

rich meals, poor dinners, milky teas, black coffees and salty beers, the occasional affair,

the new job, new house, new car, overtime, remortgage, write-off, divorce, remarriage, reconnection, kids, grandkids, accusations, recriminations, celebrations, commiserations?

fact or fictionsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I like this!! Uh the trajectory of life! I use to people watch.. but rarely do now.. I expect it’s a pastime I need to pick up again to fuel some writing if anything. 😄

  • Test8 months ago

    I do alot 🤍 There is just so much we don't know about other people and their lives. Loved the simplicity and beauty of this one 🤍

  • All the time.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi 'P' - I "Commiserate" with 'Special' poignant memories on this one ~ Just wrote about 'Meet-Ups' that last 'Heartsy' ~ - Thanks for this - j-bud

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I always thinking about what brings people to their points in life. For some reason “occasional affair” sent me 🥹😅

  • Sadly, I've never seen an old couple who are still in love with each other. But hypothetically, if I do see one, then yes, I'd definitely wonder these things. Wonderful poem Sir Paul! 🍩🥐

  • Excellent ponderings. I love to people-watch and to just talk to people and learn their stories. It always amazes me!

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Yes. A regular past time, when I am just hanging out with no one to talk to.😉

  • Nicely written 📝 💖😁👍

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    I observe people all the time and wonder about their story. 😎

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    💞

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.