Poets logo

Oh...

I Forgot my Lines

By Sandra MatosPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Art by Author

Oh...

But I thought you didn't love me

anymore

all those yesterdays ago

and now

when my legs stop shaking

and there's no more quaking

on my little piece of earth

There is your face

When you wrote the script

I followed word for word

I cried on cue

I broke in two

turned upside down

and kissed the ground

You walked on

I burned my knees

making deals for you

bribing God when

I had no grace

I bled your taste

And you were free

Now, when my line is straight

and the sun hangs closer

to my shoulders

Someone told you

that I broke character

I found happy

And the kind of love

that doesn't cost dirty pennies

or require me to gasp for air

that isn't there

And to you it seems like

That's not right

You found tears now

to wash away your sad mistakes

You found pretty words

to wrap your fears in

While your knees burn in your

golden shadow

And I would shed a tear for you

I would lend an ear to you

or give a hand to help you stand

when you slipped

But I can't

It isn't written

in my script

love poems
2

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.