Poets logo

Oh, Child... Let Me Be Your Walls

An open letter from God

By Camilla RichterPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
1
Oh, Child... Let Me Be Your Walls
Photo by Tommy Bond on Unsplash

You build these walls sometimes. Tall and thick, layers upon layers of mortar and brick and self-preservation. You patrol the perimeter with vigilance, warning others not to get too close. You build these walls to keep everyone out, but also to keep your darkness closer.

You fear what may happen if you let others in, so you seal it up tight, out of sight, out of mind.

I know you think you need them, these walls that comprise this fortress around you. I know they feel like home, after years of hiding in their shadow, but these walls that you’ve built around your wounds are the very same walls that seal your heart in a tomb.

Oh child, I knit you in your mother’s womb, I know every inch of your innermost rooms, the ones you haven’t even discovered yet. You see, you were made for so much more than this existence of avoidance. Your soul is meant to bloom and outgrow this prison residence, to fly safe and free under the shadow of my wings.

Oh child, I wish you knew what I could do if only you’d let me. I can give freedom and healing and life if you’d let me. I’ll be your refuge, your shelter, your home… if you’d let me.

I understand your hesitation; those who promised safety in your past have not stewarded your trust faithfully. In reality, they wounded you painfully, those people who were meant to protect you became the very same to inject you with trauma and then call it durability.

I understand your hesitation, but allow me to present a substitution: Let me be your walls. Let me be your refuge, your rock, your safety.

It’s okay to come undone. Let these cracks in your walls spread like roots in the ground, let the barricades fold in a heap of dust all around. I’m surrounding you like Jericho. Again and again, around I go. Not seven days, seven times seventy, and even then I won’t admit defeat. It's time for you to come out. I'm calling you: Oh child, let down your walls and come out! Only I don’t shout; I’m whispering. Are you listening?

“Let go.

“Oh child… Let me be your walls."

I do not fear your darkness - I am Light. I do not fear your hurts - I am Healer. I do not fear your “too muchness” - I am the Great I Am. I am a safe place. I am your refuge. I am your hiding place, your outer shield, your inner peace. I'm your warrior, protector, provider, your savior.

Don’t hide your face from me anymore, my beautiful child. In my grace, nothing can hurt you. There’s nothing to fear; I am a safe place.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Camilla Richter

I've used fiction as an escape ever since I developed an imagination, and now I'm sharing pieces of my world with you. I'm a wife, mom, and an awkward introvert who professes her undying love to baristas in the drive through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.