Poets logo

Off the Coast of Maine

by Johnathan Riley

By Johnathan RileyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
illustration by author

Off the Coast of Maine

The fog around the island is a dull ache—

I have grown

grey, like these houses here

on Monhegan: each darker

than the last,

The rumor is that a hurricane

is nearby and plans

to visit. No one seems too worried.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Don’t read this:

This part is only here to reach the minimum word count, but why is there a minimum for poetry? I’ve got poems with no words, I've got poems with two. Even as I write this I have a poem dangling from my front teeth just waiting to drop! Spoil me with your brevity, I am the Rat King, after all.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Johnathan Riley

Writing is hard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    I love your don't read section, really brings it all together. Beautiful poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.