Poets logo

Of a Poet

Multifaceted aspects of truth seeking

By Jake LoPrestiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2

I sat in the eyes of a poet

They seemed lost in thought and play

My clarity began to lose focus

And my mind twisted and slipped away

This poet didn't care much

But cared too deeply in truth

The magic still wandered

But wondered what to do

I sat in the will of a poet

If only for a short time

There was no concern for making sense

No rhythm or no rhyme

Think about the sky

Think about the ground

Think of how you don't think

Does your thought have sound?

I sat in the empty memory of a poet

No longer caring where to go

The world had lost its luster

Now the truth it will never know

But I think there's still hope here

I am still willing to dance

I know that some have stepped away

But I think I'll take a chance

I stand in the heart of a poet

Though I may not always know

I fight for truth and love and honor

I search for better ways to grow

I won't kill for answers

And I won't die for gods

But I will let my heart show

And strive against all odds

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Jake LoPresti

I write in search of ultimate truth. Beyond light and dark, and through love. Life is a series of waves to catch and I’m just looking for the right one to ride.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.