Poets logo

Ode to the Kitchen Roll

Poem

By Teresa RentonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Ode to the Kitchen Roll
Photo by Crystal de Passillé-Chabot on Unsplash

I’m told I shouldn’t use you

that because of trees, we breathe;

but under the sink lies a motley crew

of tatty cloths I’d rather leave.

.

You sit on my kitchen counter top

soft, sophisticated, and clean,

ready for the smallest drop

to wipe like it had never been.

.

Call me lazy, idle, ignorant,

just because I don’t stop to think,

or humour others, like some sycophant

when play dough’s blocking my sink

.

and toddler’s cramming teddy

into my nutriblender

while Maisie’s punching Freddy

and he refuses to surrender.

.

Chocolate trails from mouth to door

Mr’s looking for a clean shirt

and juice blobs orange along the floor

and I can’t see sense for all the dirt,

.

Will I start rummaging for some rag

then have to rinse and plonk it somewhere

or will I tear a piece of kitchen roll?

Come challenge me—see if you dare!

humor

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Ahh good old kitchen roll! What would we do without it!

  • I’m guilty too. Though I do use microfiber rags I gotta have my wipes and towels too and chemical laden cleaners

  • Hannah Moore11 months ago

    Also guilty. Anti bac wipes,even worse!

  • Lol, guilty as charged! I'd rather use a kitchen roll than a rag!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Loving your ode!!!❤️❤️💕

Teresa RentonWritten by Teresa Renton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.