Poets logo

Ode to a Cloud

Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Image by author

I’m often mesmerised by the stunning depth and beauty of clouds. I imagine entire kingdoms within their folds.

Pillowy, marshmallowy

candyfloss spun from ice,

shifting like a wandering thought

nudged by benign breezes,

formed from ancient lakes, rivers, sea

—places where I swam, splashed and

paddled.

Now I chuckle at the thought

that once I

dipped my toe

into a cloud ☁️

childrens poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dawn Salois10 months ago

    I was drawn to this poem because I was admiring the way the clouds looked on my way home this evening. I love descriptions of clouds and I feel like have a new appreciation for their origins. I had actually never thought of clouds this way.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    It must be magical to live inside your head 😁 marshmallow cloud kingdoms are giving me some joy this morning 😁

  • Oooo, we dipped our toes in clouds before they became clouds. Lol. Awesome ode!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Sweet ode to a cloud!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Teresa RentonWritten by Teresa Renton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.