Poets logo

Ode to the Bright Summer

A Sonnet by Anon My Bright Summer, you inspire me to write.

By Cosmos WalterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to the Bright Summer
Photo by Mateo Giraud on Unsplash

Ode to the Bright Summer

A Sonnet by Anon

My Bright Summer, you inspire me to write.

How I love the way you hide, hunt and look,

Invading my mind day and through the night,

Always dreaming about the commonplace book.

Let me compare you to a wrong buffoon?

You are more silly, horrible and wild.

Live sun heats the deadpan peaches of June,

And summertime has the alive male child.

How do I love you? Let me count the ways.

I love your chilly feet, hands and eyebrows.

Thinking of your lifelong hands fills my days.

My love for you is the lovely snowplows.

Now I must away with an active heart,

Remember my main words whilst we're apart.

Auto Praise for Ode to the Bright Summer

"Never have I felt so moved by a Bright Summer. Thank you Anon!"

- The Daily Tale

"Look, you might think 'snowplows' is a good rhyme for 'eyebrows', but frankly I couldn't make head nor tale of what you were trying to say."

- Enid Kibbler

"The author is so talented that I really feel the love for the object of the poem's chilly feet, hands and eyebrows."

- Hit the Spoof

"The iambic pentameter almost works!"

- Zob Gloop

"Not even Shakespeare himself would be bold enough to use a simile like 'a wrong buffoon' - wow!"

- Betty Borison

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.