Poets logo

Ode To My Sweater

A Winter Fashion Villanelle

By DaphsamPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
9
Ode To My Sweater
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Sweater weather is my favorite time of year.

Softness and warmth seeps deep into my soul.

My face says it all, a smile from ear to ear.

Feels like a hug from teddy bear, so dear.

Or Like a lover’s embrace that envelopes my body whole.

Sweater weather is my favorite time of year.

Merlot wool, cashmere, alpaca, cotton all so premier.

A feeling of coziness when out for a chilly stroll.

My face says it all, a smile from ear to ear.

It’s the cardigan sweater that’s in my gear.

To close or not to close the edges of yarn so fine, I love that control.

Sweater weather is my favorite time of year.

If am a clashing disaster, let me be clear,

I don’t care if my sweater mismatches, no reason for fashion patrol.

My face says it all, a smile from ear to ear.

I could make a life of sweater wearing, a full-time career.

My sweater stays with me forever, even if it has a hole.

Sweater weather is my favorite time of year.

My face says it all, a smile from ear to ear.

love poemsperformance poetryhumor
9

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    I love this! I never have sweater weather where I am but this poem made me feel snuggly. Well written.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Wonderful job.

  • This made me feel very warm

  • Awww, this was such a wonderful tribute to your sweater. Loved your Villanelle!

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    Who doesn't like a cozy sweater or even a blanket that is crocheted.

  • Cleverly done... it has such a cosy, comforting feel.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.