Poets logo

Ode to my Dad.

To those who grew up with a Present, but absent dad.

By Kara BunkerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Ode to my Dad.
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

This an ode to the dad I never had.

Took one look at me, and said i'ma love her differently.

She doesn't need affection.

She doesn't need comfort.

She doesn't need a Dad to guide her through the hurt.

She's not my oldest, She's not my youngest.

She's stuck somewhere in the middle, of my fucked up mindset.

She doesn't need a dad, never a man to comfort her when she's sad.

Make sure to make her feel bad, knowing she'll never be enough.

All I'm doing is making sure she's tough...Right?

She's a problem child, that was going to happen regardless...Right?

Give up from the get, The type of child you have to hit.

She'll get through it, She's strong.

I made her like that, following my shadow just hoping for some type of validation.

Knowing I won't even attend her graduation.

She doesn't need me there, while she sings her heart out.

Looking for me in the crowd, even though she knows I won't be there.

I never have, so how can she care?

If she didn't need me, neither do her kids...Do they?

Watching me with my girlfriends grandkids while we play.

Why wasn't she good enough for me?

All her potential I've never seen.

Her screams for help I didn't hear.

Maybe it was the pills.

Maybe it was the beer.

To broken to be loved.

A child I never hugged.

Although by her dreams, She seems haunted.

This is an Ode to a Daughter, I never wanted.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kara Bunker

Just a mom who loves to write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kara BunkerWritten by Kara Bunker

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.