Poets logo

Ode to Joy and Love

About life.

By B. Townley - Modern OlympiasPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to Joy and Love
Photo by Tiko Giorgadze on Unsplash

Stirring inside and bubbling

Up from the depths where it lay,

I once as a child felt it growing

But it was snatched cruelly away

By death, for as we all know

It comes as a thief in the night.

Then it trampled and tore

What it found stored,

In the depths of my soul where it lay.

Stirring inside and peeking

Out from the depths where it lay,

I once as a teen felt it showing

But it wasn’t returned that day

By another to whom I entrusted

The secret that I couldn’t contain.

So I hid it away,

For a future day.

In the depths of my soul where it lay.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

B. Townley - Modern Olympias

Life gets weird. Arranging my scattered thoughts into words on a blank page helps me to make sense of it all.

I use my love of language to create characters for D&D with tragic back stories that I wish were my own.

Plus, cute kids. #singlemom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

B. Townley - Modern Olympias is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.