Poets logo

Ode to Fall

An old one.

By C. F.Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I open the front door to be greeted by a gust of chilled air

The trees bow unison with the current and I can see my car covered in browned leaves

If I didn’t know any better I’d think the house beneath my feet would follow the flow

Floating up against the fluttering debris floating down

Wind scared me as a child

Believing that if I were to walk out, my body

Like a loose newspaper tumbling in the middle of Philadelphia’s gravel jungle

Would be blown away

Now crisp coolness is an unspoken blessing to my summer-spent skin no longer afraid

I invite the newly arrived guest with open windows and a cup of hot tea, sleeves stretching down to embrace arms wholly

Its time here is fleeting, but change brings new possibilities so it mustn’t be dwelt upon

Cherish each moment

Before colors fade to white

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

C. F.

Intangible emotions written into tousled words conveniently contained in a snack pack.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.