Poets logo

Ode to Cigarette Butts

For you

By Jerec VelezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Ode to Cigarette Butts
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

Oh the feeling of picking up cigarette butts.

It is my joy, my reason to be.

When I pick them up with my clean fingers I imagine the joy that the smoker must be in.

Their lips so sweet and tar stained.

How I wish I could mount them on my wall for all to see .

When the butts stick out from my potted plants.

Oh how jealous the plant is when I remove their carcinogenic friend .

5, 10 sometimes 21, I pick up off the floor and plants each day that I am fortunate enough to care.

By Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

So many different lips I have touched.

How fortunate I am to have so many caring friends .

How fortunate I am that they leave their butts for me and my plants.

How sad we will all be when they quit or fade away like the smoke from the precious wrinkled lips.

Jerec Velez

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Jerec Velez

Jerec lives is Southern California, works as a Horticulturist by day and teaches ballet and writes at night. He has 2 Garden friendly paperbacks children's chapter books on Amazon entitled

"Danny's New Life" And "Ruby Meets A Little Girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.