Poets logo

Ode to Breath

... < ... > .... < ... > ... < ... > ...

By ARCPublished 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
15
Ode to Breath
Photo by Hannah Tims on Unsplash

You come and you go,

yet you never leave me.

Are my actions as steadfast?

My loyalty as true?

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

Sometimes you rush, and

others, you linger. Yet,

still, you remain with me. With

me, but never mine.

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

Yet, you are mine. Yes,

though I own you not, you

are mine. A gift giv'n anew

as each now turns to now.

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

Do I give to all

as freely as you give

to me? Do I share of my

self as openly?

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

You ask for nothing.

Yet you give ev'rything.

How do you always have more?

From where comes your supply?

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

What is that you say?

I give back to you? How?

My life, an offering? My

exhale... my action? Wow..

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

So, you mean to say:

It's a cycle. You give,

I give, in return. My life

feeds you, as you feed me,

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

together, we both

learn, grow, experience

Being. No purpose but Joy,

'Home' nowhere and Now, Here.

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

You are both Ruler

and Servant. Benign and

loving Infinite. Teach me

to live without limit.

... < ... > .... < ... > ...

You come and you go,

yet you never leave me.

Steadfast, I act; one with you.

To you, my breath, I am true.

inspirational
15

About the Creator

ARC

Poems, articles & stories πŸ““

Expressions of things seen 🌌

Sharing of more subtle things felt ✨

Friends call me Tony. 🌊

If you resonate with some of this content, inner connectivity may be of further interest to you on your Inner Path. πŸ’ 

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Mic drop. This is absolutely STUNNING. I cannot praise this enough, Tony. Holy shit. "What is that you say? I give back to you? How? My life, an offering? My exhale... my action? Wow.. ... < ... > .... < ... > ... So, you mean to say: It's a cycle. You give, I give, in return. My life feeds you, as you feed me, ... < ... > .... < ... > ... together, we both learn, grow, experience Being. No purpose but Joy, 'Home' nowhere and Now, Here." I love the whole thing, but this section is so cool, with the answer that breath gives. Wow wow wow.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is fantastic. Well done.

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I never looked at breath like that but I did look at it another way, when I was on a ventilator. If you have time, please read my "My Time on a Ventilator". Thanks.

  • I had to include this poem here ❀️✨ It falls perfectly into the theme of appreciation https://vocal.media/writers/lust-for-words-3

  • Test9 months ago

    This is next level gorgeousness, Tony. An ode to something we take for granted every day – thank you for reminding me to stop and appreciate the very thing that sustains me. I love the cyclic nature of this poem – it's perfect for the subject matter, and really gives that sense of symbioses. "It's a cycle. You give, I give, in return. My life feeds you, as you feed me" So damn beautiful. Thank you. x

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Okayyyyy…this is absolute magic! What an incredibly gorgeous experience you created in this piece, Tony! The layers and depth here are just rich with parallels. β€œYet, you are mine. Yes, though I own you not, you are mine. A gift giv'n anew as each now turns to now.” πŸ€¦πŸ½β€β™€οΈ There are so many treasures in this piece that I’d just be rewriting the entire thing if I shared every line I loved. Beautiful beautiful beautiful work! Just, Woah!

  • Whoaaaa, this blew my mind! This was breathtaking (see what I did there, lol), extremely deep and thought provoking. You portrayed such a beautiful cycle of life!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Kahlil Gibran would approve of this poem! Phenomenal!

  • I read this as the story of learning to love truly (letting go of attachment based love and control,). Learning from the relationship with our breath. The magical essence of life, and so too of love. It’s truly outstanding. Great work πŸ™β€οΈβœ¨

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    There are so many great lines in this, Tony. Outstanding!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    That really did take my breath away and give it straight back on a gasp. This was wonderfully done! I especially liked this verse: "Yet, you are mine. Yes, though I own you not, you are mine. A gift giv'n anew as each now turns to now."

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Well excuse me if what I'm about to say is a bit obvious, but this was truly breathtaking, Tony! 😍 I found this line so mesmerizing: "You are both Ruler and Servant. Benign and loving Infinite. Teach me to live without limit." Breath is so much more than just air entering our lungs. I am in love with how you expressed this concept. Amazing job! ❀️❀️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.