Poets logo

Ode to a Toad

My BFF, The Bufo Toad

By Tammy CastlemanPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
3

You were warty, but wise; my childhood friend

You glistened, and listened to my every woe

The summer I was eight years old

Uncertain as to where my life might go

Your golden eyes, and green-brown skin

Brought simple joys at the edge of a pond

In the cool of evenings and mossy rock

Your nose to my nose...and I...

Squeaky wet, battered red shoes with no socks

A child with new big teeth, and honey blond.

You trusted me with your life and I was honored

You taught me to fight, but not too hard.

You and I both fragile and alone,

I learned about life from a sage old frog

And in the end, uncertainty was conquered.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Tammy Castleman

I have been an avid writer and photographer for most of my life. In terms of true passions, those are mine. What I lack for in memory, I make up for in recorded detail. We are what we leave behind.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    So happy poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.