Poets logo

Ode to a Shelf

What Must Be Said...

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago 1 min read
10
Ode to a Shelf
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

It is better not to think

of what to think

about (for my own stout health,

I should forget the shelf).

*

Yet, there it is, all in white,

up past the wall with its lamp-bright

halo (made yellow by stealth

just above the shelf).

*

The body of it leaned, something barely

perceived, yet it is clearly

bent (all that spent wealth

on a dodgy shelf).

*

And next to the lamp, table and coat stand,

the smaller one, an also-ran

stacked and brown (unpacked it myself;

a final overburdened shelf).

They remain when others go...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

love poemssocial commentarysad poetryfact or fiction
10

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kip Guenther9 months ago

    I love this! Beautiful flow and very evocative!

  • One can always use another shelf. If not for shelves, where would we put our elves?

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Books are steadfast forever friends :) Loved this one!

  • Your ode reminds me of William Carlos Williams' poem that focuses on a wheelbarrow. Something so seemingly ordinary yet unforgettable can easily make you think about deeper aspects of life.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Lovely message, books are our friends.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    great entry

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    This is lovely. Much respect to book hoarders.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.