Poets logo

Ode to a ring

Inspired by Pablo Neruda's "Ode to the Onion"

By Colton BabladelisPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
Ode to a ring
Photo by Roman Derrick Okello on Unsplash

Ring

Running in circles

From here to forever

This adamantine piece of trust

I lay upon my skin

A symbol of a promise

To love you until we are dust

Somewhere in my mind's eye

I kiss you again and again

Matching and holding hands

As metal clinks

The chiming of bells we can hold

From a clasped metal chain

Around my neck and over my heart

I let this memory hang

A requisite piece of the past

An etched reminder of the start

Diamond clad and gold

In these walls sweet songs rang

Forged to fit only me

It will remain until all my stories are told

surreal poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Colton Babladelis

I'm a nature lover that tries to capture the beauty and darkness of life in my poetry. I'm also a sci-fi and fiction fanatic and am branching my own writing out into short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriel Huizenga8 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful- you capture the significance of your ring with such wonderful language and turns of phrase <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.