Poets logo

October 25th.

8:16am.

By daphne grayPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2

I haven’t written in so long. The heels of the world penetrate my back and I cannot help but crumble at the pressure of it all. I am always picking between one vice or another, one love or another, never finding time for both. If I accomplish something in one area it is not without disappointing myself in another.

Logistically, I understand that this life is full of ups and downs, to enjoy one you must learn to enjoy them all, but I cannot find it in me to feel neither content nor okay with what happens during the fall. So, I rush to pick myself back up, building up a ladder so I can get myself to that peak again, fire under my skin, sparking up the wood, burning it into ashes until I’m left exactly where I started.

It has become exhausting, like it always does, but the roller coaster hasn’t shut down yet and I’m nowhere near the safety steps, so all I can do is continue to ride.

artsad poetryexcerpts
2

About the Creator

daphne gray

just a girl in this world who thinks a lot and writes a lot and some of it makes sense and some of it doesn't. enjoy nevertheless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    The ride feels draggy sometimes, but I hope it becomes much more bearable and fun for you soon!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.