Poets logo

OCD

The Thoughts I Thought Were Me

By Abigail PenhallegonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
OCD
Photo by Victoria on Unsplash

Sometimes the rarest thing for me

Is to simply be.

.

To exist.

To live in the moment.

To accept the uncertainty.

.

When things are bad,

I think.

I think and I think and I think and I think and I think and I think and

I think andithinkandithinkandiTHINKANDITHINKANDITNEVERENDS

.

Fog, dense, day, next.

Worry, question, worry, cry.

Think and think until I die.

.

But not forever.

Not, not forever.

.

There is hope.

There is more.

.

The tightly locked door

Which I feared?

.

The bolt is on the inside.

I just needed a guide.

.

Now,

When things are good,

Or even when they're bad,

Sometimes--more often--I can just be.

I am so close.

I am me.

.

Not rare anymore

but so rare still.

.

Just me.

.

Just here.

.

Just happy.

.

Just sad.

.

Just peaceful.

.

Calm.

.

And I think to myself . . .

I think less now.

And I'm still me.

.

Not such a bad thing to be.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Abigail Penhallegon

I'm an aspiring novelist. I've started many stories and just recently become more confident in my abilities due to the encouragement of great friends and teachers. I'd like to spread joy through my writing, so prepare for happy endings. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was beautiful!! I relate to so much of this (postpartum OCD and PTSD) and I adore that you found a way to calm your mind. I have a poem in drafts here about, well, existing, that I havent touched in 2 months but this is inspiring me to publish it. 🥰

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. I could see the frustration, then the relief. Wonderful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.