Poets logo

Occult Poetry Exercise #TBT

Day 7 | 25 Days of Poetry Challenge

By SB. Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Occult Poetry Exercise #TBT
Photo by Loren Cutler on Unsplash

Today I'm sharing a short poem I wrote following an interesting structure proposed by occult poetry writer, Janaka Stucky. Him and Pam Grossman hosted a wonderfully witchy writing workshop earlier this year in April that encouraged me see the things I dislike most in a totally different way. Yes, it is a #TBT, and no it is not Thursday, but felt like sharing this today in lieu of the poem I originally wrote for Day 7 - which was in Spanish and cannot be shared on this platform without a translation (which I didn't want to do).

"I honor you

Mystical cats, masters of boundaries

I honor you

Bugs that are brown and black like the beginning and end of life

I honor you

Rotting, but righteous holes of existence

I thank you

Sunny mornings for filling all voids

I thank you

Blankets that temper our weather and weathering hearts

I thank you

Pink things, like starfish and stars for sharing your magic with me."

These are: extra words for approval. To make things count.

I cannot exist with my current amount

of symbols and sounds that mean so much more!

But still, here I am,

as myself here I am: nothing less than before.

This poem is part of a series of 25 daily word experiments I am committing to for the month of October. The motto: “Sometimes garbage, sometimes sweet, not fun everyday, but everyday anyway!” Intrigued to experience what can be created (and discovered) in the process of developing a consistent writing practice, I will be writing a poem a day until my Vocal+ subscription ends at the end of the month. Let’s gooooo!

love poems
1

About the Creator

SB.

Hi! I’m Siena. I’m a word witch and an actual witch. I like to write when I feel like it 🌓 🌊

my other experiments 👽…

Aquí 👉@sb_insight ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.