Poets logo

Obituary

At our funeral is this what you would say

By CadmaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Beneath the soil of where I am standing,

lays the one who did everything to love me.

Her eyes sunken from my atrocities

and her braided with my generosities

Because when I decide to be kind

The bad should be invalid & left in the past

What a beautiful braid I have made to last

Her teeth removed to stop her speaking

It’s about a time, for it’s a long time of rotting

Suffered, yes she did but not by my tongue

She wouldn’t let bygones be bygones

The world doesn’t revolve around her as it does to me

It’s why she nicknamed me King Louie the 14th

The weapons in her heart standing in her chest

Are my fingerprints on them? Why of course, yes!

Don’t be so silly to think I would let her go anywhere

Unless I was done & bored again, on reserve she will be to be fair

So we gather here today, in a very deep memory.

Of when she last loved me.

Always ready for anything I blinked at

I knew from her I could always have

Salt in the wounds I cut, but

I would incompletely patch her up

Warmer than the loveliest summer memory

Softer & delicate on the inside like origami

But if I picked on her to appease myself

Her coldest winter could not be helped

More loyal than any dog would dare take

Her heart was only mine to break

Here at my feet, there she lays

Looking the same as yesterday

Or yesteryear of wasting away

Laying with her eyes closed, hands on her chest

I am tempted to resurrect, but maybe it’s best

To forget the beating of her heart I liked to resuscitate and hit

Perhaps the death of our painful love, will allow her to forget

Widowed away from what was never worth a try

I leave you flowers to our grave and say the final goodbye

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Cadma

A sweetie pie with fire in her eyes

Instagram @CurlyCadma

TikTok @Cadmania

Www.YouTube.com/bittenappletv

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.