Poets logo

O! To Be Held By You Once More!

A Villanelle of Deafening Solitude

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
13
https://pixabay.com/users/amrulqays-38834479/

I don't know how long I can hide this grief.

My sobs restrain and howling quell.

This life is short and Time's a thief.

~

Cutting true and deep as I seek relief

The sadness seeps and pools but won't dispel.

I don't know how long I can hide this grief.

~

I can't give it substance, no words debrief

No charm or chant my jagged slogging pain dispel.

This life is short and Time's a thief.

~

How can Spring appear and trees greenly leaf?

I'll not bloom again, trapped in this icy-leaden shell.

I don't know how long I can hide this grief.

~

My love- I'll write you, by ream and sheaf!

But how to send it from this cold eternal hell?

I don't know how long I can hide this grief.

This life is short and Time's a thief.

~

This is a villanelle, with a strict and repetitive form. I think it lends itself well to the monotonous worm of sadness and grief expressed in this poem.

Thanks, Vocal- I would not have attempted this were it not for your Challenge.

Comments welcomed!

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
13

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Very beautifully crafted poem.

  • I agree with your summation completely, Judey. Well & evocatively done.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Time's a thief? Ain't that the truth. Beautifully written and brought a tear to my eye. Thank you for sharing Judey

  • How can Spring appear and trees greenly leaf? I'll not bloom again, trapped in this icy-leaden shell. These lines hit me so hard. I felt this way when my cat passed away. I felt time stood still and the world to a halt. But just for me. I didn't understand how life went on normally for others when I was frozen. Loved your Villanelle!

  • So emotively written, for a compex challenge. "This life is short and Time's a thief." So true.

  • Excellent challenge entry and a probable Top Story

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, so and powerful.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well now, this made me sad...which was kinda the point, so yes, this was so good. I felt every damn line and the form worked so well with the draining affect of grief and sadness and how it continues to weigh us down, as you said. Also glad you stuck to the rules and produced an actual villanelle. I am actually working on a piece that outlines the complexities of it, but trying to not sound like an asshole...lol...good luck to me with that. lol. I too would not have tried them at all...and would not have fallen in love with them if it weren't for it being a challenge hosted by Vocal. I also think it's interesting...but most I have written so far, aside from one that I wrote that was a bit on the funny side, have been very serious and sad. The form seems to lend itself to that. This is a spectacular entry, Judey and would not be surprised if it made the winner's circle.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.