Poets logo

O'Sister

Grieving the loss of a Sister still breathing

By sarah-rashaelPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
O'Sister
Photo by Akshay Paatil on Unsplash

O’Sister, how far you’ve fallen from grace

I know you’re hurting in this god forsaken place

Darkness is what you know

Full of anger, unwilling to forgive or let go

The darkness of your eyes, a mirror of your heart

It pains me to know that yours has been torn apart

It’s a sickened life you’ve constructed around you

We want you healthy, but there’s only so much we can do

O’Sister, I know you like the rain but this storm you cannot weather

You’re fragile on your own, let us help, we’re stronger together

My sister, my friend

You’re choices I cannot comprehend

We’re losing you, we’ve all been grieving

Your words are lies and motives deceiving

I know this isn’t you, I know your blood runs red

I know your trapped and spinning in your head

Scream out baby girl, we’re ready to listen

All the terror and wrong doing will be forgiven

We’re all here waiting, ready in this lifetime

O’Sister, time was never yours nor mine

Neither this lifetime or this reality

I have no use for dual realities

Come back to us, we’re all here

I miss you my sister

Let me erase those scars left upon your wrists

I know you never wanted any of this

I know you’re angry, I know you’re scared

All this damage and heartbreak can be repaired

I promise, I know, I went through all this too

Believe when I say, I never wanted any of it for you

How do I protect you from the things that you want

The poison that leaves you hollow and gaunt

It strips you of your soul leaving you heavy

Please take my hand, I beg you! Come with me!

If I could wrap you in cotton wool, I would

Maybe I should

Im scared you’ll end your life, even more than you have done already

Come with me now, steady

It’ll take time, remember it was never yours nor mine

Don’t cheat yourself out of this lifetime

O’Sister look at this damage you’ve done,

You’re a raging bullet without a gun

No one to carry you

What else will you do

You’ve torn it all apart

Your family and your heart

We never thought it would go this far

I never thought it’d be you, crying out for a saviour

What more can we do,

We’ve cried out and screamed that we want to safe you

I know it won’t be me who pulls you out

It’s with the family ties which you place your doubt

Uncertain of our foundations

Our make up of sinister origins

O’Sister I’m so sorry that he hurt you

I was I child too, what else could I do?

I'm sorry you were afraid

So I was I, that’s why I never stayed

We can blame our past upbringings for the desolate choices you’ve made

Please forgive me for walking away, it was never renegade

Staying true to beliefs and what right

A cannot enable you to pursue your internal fight

All this rage and commitment to hurt

You need to be steady, sit still, be inert

Slow down my Sister there’s no need for dualities

Destroying bonds and human ties won’t prove immortality

I know your trying to appear a warrior, fearless and strong

But these emotions prove you’re more human than you let on

Your heart is bruised, it’s so broken

The sister you once were will never be forgotten

I know you hate yourself, for the things you do and the things that you done

If it weren’t for the laws restrictions and know you’d flea and run

I wish that you could, run free and be happy

I know I would too, if I were you and you were me

If I could be you for a moment to fix it all, I would

I’d take all your pain if I could

I love O’sister

Please come Home

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

sarah-rashael

Psychology Undergrad majoring in Creative Writing. Offering blended poetic realism to creative non-fiction & journal pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.