Poets logo

O' My Son

A poem, for you.

By Nicholas SparkmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

O’ my son

You have made me a believer

In all the bright and luminous colors

That before, I only saw as a dark blue

Yes, my boy, I owe this all

To you

O’ my son

For such a long time, I was lost

In a place where even when the sky was pitch black,

I could never see the bright white of the stars

Before you

O’ my son

I still see blue, just no longer in a melancholy fashion

Because your eyes are windows,

And I see nothing but a vast and cloudless blue sky,

In you

O’ my son

I cannot wait to look into that black sky with you

When it is riddled with brilliantly lit stars that I now see because of you

No, I cannot wait to tell you just how patiently they’ve waited

To shine and glimmer white

For you

O’ my son

You are still so young

But you’ve shown me how full of colors life can be

But out of all of the colors in the world

My favorites will always be the ones that will burst

From you

love poems
1

About the Creator

Nicholas Sparkman

Enigmatic and wistful with a love for writing that only shows when inspiration strikes. Literature, poetry, cinema, and board game enthusiast. Author of "Fractures in a Glass Mind: A Collection of Poetry and Songs".

@spark_manic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.