Poets logo

Nuna

A Gratitude Poem

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
63
Image taken by poet

On layered ice and snow

Where life desires no boundaries

Enveloped by nature’s forces of humility

Is where I found home

~

On mountain tops

Of endless riveted rock and view

Where night sky ravens light the day

Nothing can darken a breathing ocean blue

~

The blessed wind shall lift me

Towards anywhere true

Tie a kite string to my waist

Let me glide on cloud skates

~

Let my kite colours fly ribbons of laughter world wide

~

See ‘Nuna’,

Has always reminded me of the word

‘Lullaby’

Where the earth rocks us with the gentlest of goodnights

~

On this Nuna

On this land

Sky

Water

~

There is boundless

Open

Just spread your heart wide

Breathe in it’s embrace

~

Sing it’s praises

~

On layered ice and snow

I found the humblest of welcomes

Floating in wide open air yet rooted to permafrost

Where home felt so warm even in the coldest of places

nature poetry
63

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Raphael Fontenelle4 days ago

    Beautiful. Very beautiful and well done. :)

  • Beautiful, ethereal, filled with wonder & thanksgiving.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Such a great effortless ‘feel’ to this! Terrific job.

  • I was so excited to read a poem about a polar bear. But I was confused because it wasn't about polar bears. And then I realised Nanuq ia polar bear, not Nuna 🤣 But I immensely enjoyed this beautiful poem!

  • Very well written. Excellent from start to finish. Top notch work.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    one of my favorites on here. a truly excellent piece of writing.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I love this one. One of your best.

  • Already hearted but a refreshing revisit

  • cloud skates...something Amazon sells. I'm buying

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    You certainly have a way with words. This was stunning. I loved this line especially, "Nothing can darken a breathing ocean blue." Glad you made it safely back to the arctic :)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliantly beautiful! This is a re-read. 💖hearted previously! 👏💖😊💕

  • OMG, this photo! Can I visit you? My favorite part of your beautiful poem: "Tie a kite string to my waist / Let me glide on cloud skates". I felt as though I were with you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.