Poets logo

Nowhere...

By Jada Williams

By Jada WilliamsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Smiles and back rubs.

Kisses and soft hugs.

Those are the things that determine the shape of my love.

Forbidden looks

And fingers touching between the books.

A graze here and there,

Hands entangled through the hair.

The thrill of new love.

Excitement in a world our ancestors would dream of

And yet,

Where am I when the flags have flown?

When the confetti is all thrown?

When the cheers and gayness fade,

Where is admission for the ticket I paid?

Life moves on as if my favorite moments were never there

And I witness as the memories fade with time

And time is all that remembers that I laid bare

My love, my vulnerability, my heart, open like a gaping wound exposed to the harsh air,

Bleeding out deep red in the light of the moon.

The salve offered to me to act as a boon,

But do I want to let it go?

The pain is all that I know,

All that can help me remember how my blood flows

When I'm with you.

Please accept my apology.

I don't know where I am when you're not with me,

You helped me understand who I am.

I didn't know before, but I'm beginning to understand,

Please, I don't know where to go.

Where I am now, you must know,

I feel alone.

Stranded on an island by myself.

It's been a long time, then you came along and it helped

So much.

I understand I have to move on.

I'll try, but before you leave, hear me once.

Thank you. I love you.

I don't know where I'm going, but if not for you I would be going nowhere at all.

Now I have a destination.

I'll find my way back to you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jada Williams

Jada is a 23-year-old actor, dancer, playwright, published poet and soon to be published novelist. Her love of reading got her through many a rough patch growing up and now her writing will get her through many more. Come read with us!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.