Poets logo

Not Welcomed Anymore

Back up Partner!!!!

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
88

He came in like a thief in the night...

Stole my heart and my wallet too...

He took me for $2800 dollars and the chance of a lifetime...

And all I could do was hold on to my aching heart...

Too scared to move...

For fear that it may belly-flop onto the floor and drown in a pool of shock...

He was swift but I’m working on becoming swifter...

I was just custom-fitted for a bullet-proof life-jacket...

One that will protect me from his sinister advances in the future...

That punk had some nerve. He even went after my family this time...

Took them for everything they had and left them with their hands tied behind their backs...

But my family has just been placed in witness protection forever...

Never again will he toy with their emotions or mine either for that matter...

He's officially been put on permanent house arrest...

And if he dares to near us again, our grandparents: Steely Perseverance and Faithful Triumph will dropkick him to the moon...

And you...

You have the audacity to ask what this idiot thief’s name is?

Well... his name is POVERTY and he won’t be putting his grubby little paws on me and my family’s wallets anymore!

performance poetry
88

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    "Dropkick him to the moon!" Thas wha um TALKIN' bout! 😁 All YAY Tiffany!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    What a twist! I think this is the greatest poem ever. 👏🏼🩵

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Wow!! Well-deserved top story!!🎉🎉🎉

  • Spot on!!! great job

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    I have definitely read this before. Probably before comments. Love the fighting talk. ❤️

  • C. H. Richard5 months ago

    I know read before, but maybe before comments were on Vocal as I didn't see any from me.Very thought provoking! Congratulations on Top Story too❤️

  • Congratulations!!! two years later it is finally a Top Story. So well deserved. I think I have read this one at least a dozen times or more by now!!!

  • Dana Stewart5 months ago

    This is outstanding, Tiffany! The language and sentiment, so many punchy lines. The the unexpected ‘thief’ - great reveal! Congratulations on the Top Story 🎉

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    Extremely well written and excellent metaphor!!! Congrats on your top story

  • Moe Radosevich5 months ago

    He roams the earth with no compassion, too story worthy my friend, congratulations ❤️

  • Adrian Wordsmith5 months ago

    Your creative and metaphorical storytelling about an encounter with "Poverty" is both impactful and clever. You've personified poverty as a thief, and your determination to protect yourself and your family is inspiring. The use of humor and vivid imagery makes this piece engaging and relatable. It's a reminder of the resilience and strength that can be found in the face of challenges. Well done! 💪💰📜😄

  • Look At God 🎉😉♥️💯👍🎀CONGRATULATIONS, Big Sis💖💖💖🎉🎉🎉🥳🎺🎼🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Omgggg I'm so happy this got a Top Story after so long! Like finally! Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Yeah!!! Congratulations, Tiffany!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    I enjoyed the reread and am delighted thus got recognized as a TS

  • Test5 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Test6 months ago

    fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Oh this was clever, I didn't see that coming!

  • Bri Craig7 months ago

    Wow! The ENDING! Phenomenal poem,

  • EYHCS8 months ago

    I love it. Thought-provoking and beautiful on every level.

  • You had my heart pounding the whole way… I kept thinking oh my god did this happen 😓

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Ah, I'm frustrated I didn't guess, it seems so clear once you know!

  • Wow! Tiffany, I love this, especially the twist at the end. I was already prepared to go to battle for you and your family. Then, you named your enemy, and I was on your side even more! Great work! 💜👏💜

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This was so good! I loved this so much, wow, great structure and loved the ending! 🔥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.