Poets logo

Not the Only One

Self Love

By Susan WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Windblown - Artist: Susan Wilkins

I’m not the only one

The one who has suffered

The one who has cried

I’m not the only one

The one who has almost died

Died from sadness

Died from fear

Died from hunger

Died from sheer neglect

Neglect is abysmal

You don’t have to hit to hurt

You don’t have to shout to hurt

You don’t have to kick to hurt

Just neglect

I’m not the only one who’s been neglected

Denied of love

From Mom

From Dad

From Brother

From Sister

From Husband

From Friend

Denied of hugs and encouragement

From Mom

From Dad

From Brother

From Sister

From Husband

From Friend

Denied of acknowledgment

From Mom

From Dad

From Brother

From Sister

From Husband

From Friend

But I’m still here

Not neglected

Not denied of hugs and encouragement

Not denied of acknowledgement

Because I pay attention to myself

I hug and encourage myself

I acknowledge myself

It is called Self Love, and it is divine!

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Susan Wilkins

I write stories and poetry. Lately I have put up a science fiction story and a children's story. I love to write and Vocal has given me a platform to do that. P.S. I love reader comments! Let me know what you think. Please enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.