Poets logo

Not Myself

Poem

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Not Myself
Photo by lucas Favre on Unsplash

I feel unbalanced,

Like the skin that sits on my body,

Doesn't belong to the person I am inside,

I feel disoriented,

To whether my feelings are valid or everyone else is right,

I look in the mirror and I see twenty-six years,

Twenty- six years for where these eyes have seen,

Twenty-six years of reassuring I am me,

But right now, that is now what I see,

I see a wolf with a sheep's coat,

Acting like I know on the outside,

Yet, internally retreating to hide,

I am afraid of my thoughts,

Knotted and lost,

I am afraid for my relationships,

In constant fear for the next wave to hit,

I am afraid of my dependencies,

tied down dreaming to escape reality,

I am afraid of me,

And everyone just wanting me to be happy,

Their expectations are dragging me through chaos,

Though I am not sure it's their words that are the cause,

I don't know if my mind is playing tricks,

stacking their words and using it as leverage,

for what they are thinking and not saying,

I feel like my mind is overstimulated and decaying,

From every emotion I feel,

I can't tell what is real,

And what I have conjured in my head,

I remain in a stimulus of constant dread,

Of me saying something wrong,

Distancing myself from everyone too long,

and not communicating like they need,

Their reactions are debilitating to me,

I am afraid to interact,

Afraid what will be used back at me,

In a state of vulnerability,

Form the way they perceive,

I want to go dark,

Erase myself as marked,

In their lives,

So, I don't feel chastised,

for being alive,

But that's the thing,

I don't know if that is what they're saying,

Or what I am thinking,

I don't want to call myself insane,

Driven from the pressure and pain, I feel,

But I always feel like I have to be in control,

Of what I say,

How I act,

I know they just want the happy versions of me back,

I do too,

But right now, all I want to do is avoid,

Avoid the noise,

Avoid the expectations they are not saying but I am feeling,

Avoid the future interaction that I am seeing,

Because I am so intertwined in my own mind,

I am so far from beach, its interrupting my speech,

They want me,

Yet, I just want to run away from everyone and everything.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.