Poets logo

Not Me, But You

A Heart Loves Truth

By Ashley Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

When I met you

I kept myself far away

The fear of getting hurt

Just couldn’t go away

You told me how broken you were

And that made me feel ok

It made me realize I’m not alone

But my heart’s unspoken feelings started to say

There was so much to think about

Were you real, where did you fall from

Trust, honesty and communication were the keys

But I didn’t know what to do

I kept myself sheltered in

Walls higher than the sky

Where ever did I find this amazing guy

The haunting fear of not being enough

Will he like me

Will he think I’m too much

My heart’s in a knot

But that doesn’t seem to matter much

I keep talking but I'm feeling unheard

Does what I say truly matter

It seems other voices or thoughts

Have begun to drown me out

I have no meaning or worth to you anymore

Were you passing your time with me

Waiting to see what I could do and be

I have begun to feel used and abused

I know my worth

I guarded my heart for reasons like you

I knew one day another would come

To fiddle with my already puzzled heart

Pretending to be the missing piece

Instead you took a swing

Bashed it in with all the right things to say

Thinking I wouldn’t catch on to your game

Absence makes the heart grow fonder

Except when I am left to ponder the unknown

Have you no mercy having been through the same

What a shame, here I thought you were him

THE MAN, MY MAN…

Oh well, I’ve been here before

I’ll let you be, but just wait and see

I’ll make you as empty as you made me feel

Don’t think I play little kid games

I’m a big girl and I know what I want

Little boy you are barking up a tree

Of which the top you cannot see

Trust and believe I was true

The problem wasn’t me, but it was YOU.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ashley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.