Poets logo

Not Everyone's

Cup of Tea

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
9

I think I'll just have a cup of tea and tell the world to kiss off!

Apparently, I am not at all the tea they thought I should be...

But that's going to have to be okay. See, I can't be anybody but me!

[][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][]

Narcissistic? Aren't we all just a bit or more to some degree?

The way that word is pushed around is grating on my nerves...

We do what we can to survive, after all. No matter who it serves!

[][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][]

If we all had to wear the very same shoes in this game called life...

Well, what a pretty picture we could paint...there would be no strife!

But, my dears, we don't. So, I take my tea strong, hot, and sweet!

(Just like me, you see!)

[][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][]

This is what happened when I googled the "difference:"

Certainly! Let’s explore the difference between having a self-surviving personality and being a narcissist.

These terms are related but distinct:

Self-Surviving Personality:

A self-surviving personality refers to someone who prioritizes their own well-being, safety, and survival. It’s a healthy trait that allows individuals to take care of themselves, set boundaries, and make choices that promote their own health and security.

Self-surviving individuals recognize their needs and act in ways that protect them without necessarily harming others. They can be assertive, but they also consider the well-being of those around them.

Narcissism:

Narcissism, on the other hand, is a personality trait characterized by excessive self-love, self-centeredness, and an inflated sense of importance.

In summary, while self-surviving individuals prioritize their well-being without harming others, narcissists exhibit self-centeredness, lack empathy, and often manipulate those around them.

Understanding these distinctions helps us recognize healthy self-care versus problematic narcissistic behavior 1234.

Learn more:

1) psychologytoday.com

2) believeinmind.com

3) blog.mindvalley.com

4) psychcentral.com

Mental Health
9

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    We should all have self surviving traits, imo.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a month ago

    Thank you! Why is this such a hot topic right now? It has been coming up in my family support group? Kind of in the form of a lecture. I remember when borderline personality was a thing and people were being labelled left and right in the helping profession.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Such a worthwhile distinction to draw.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Happy to see the difference made clear. I have met some cold narcissists. No fun there. Enjoy your cup of tea and your fiesty-ness Shirley.

  • Staringale2 months ago

    The first segment shows a defiant attitude towards social experimentation and norms. The segment makes a clear difference between narcissism and self-surviving personality. You relayed a wonderful message with this post and I totally agree, 'It is important to prioritize one's well-being and set boundaries, while also consider the impact of one's actions on others.'

  • Oooo, I guess the personality that I have now is self surviving personality. It's good to know that there is such a thing. Loved your poem!

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Dear Ms. Shirley - No one is everything to all people by just being ones self; sometimes it just is what it is. It would be very boring if we were all the same: Hence the PragmaticProblematic Approach. How does one measure 'Empathy.' I agree with our friend, John: Especially in my biz - we call them "Puffers!" J.in.(the other) L.A.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I loved the poem and the helpful description of self-surviving and narcissistic people. It’s been my experience that the narcissists greatest weapon is shaming the people that they manipulate to their own ends. Drawing healthy boundaries is a great way to counter those kinds of behavior. I loved the illustration as well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.