Poets logo

Good Time Charlie

I Chose You!

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
13
1960's commercial

I know this might sound sort of weird,

for a kid to like this kind of snack...

It's not PB&J on my face all smeared,

and I'll probably get some flack.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But I screamed for mom to give to me

A tuna sandwich from Charlie, King Dud of the Sea!

Yes, you heard it quite correctly,

As I glared at other kids circumspectively!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I know it's odd to mix in the fish with some apple,

But with details like this, I did not grapple!

I liked the crunch, the eggs, the relish and the taste.

I gobbled them up with little or no haste!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I might have had a tender spot for Old Charlie,

but as I look back, I see he was a wee bit gnarly...

Nobody ever chose this sad old fish,

But I did pick him...for my very own snack, so delish :)

(No celery, but with apples)

vintagehumorFor FunFamilycelebrities
13

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    You just made me hungry. Great Entry!

  • Farhat Naseemabout a month ago

    Very nice

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I have a hankering now!

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Sb - Sammie does look yummy/wit 🍏 apples—especially with a slather Of Peanut Butta’ Jb

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I too am fond of mixing icky foods...grossing everyone out. But I like crunchy and kinda burnt foods, i like yucky foods too.

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    yummmmmm :) loved it

  • I love a good crunch element in a sandwich! I'm a vegetarian so I can't try this out but I can see if I can try to recreate this with mock meat!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Yuck! Fun poem though

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    So whimsical, Shirley! I really liked the feeling of being transported into someone else's childhood.

  • Good read… loved the old ad too. My dear Dad used to often call us Goodtime Charlies! I’ve never seen the ad… wonder if he did.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I liked this, Shirley. Made me smile. That sandwich though. I'm not sure I'd want to take a bite out of that!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.