Poets logo

Not Built For This

Taking My Shot

By Billy RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Not Built For This
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

I wasn't born to be a victim of the 9 to 5 system, I'm tired of supervisors telling me to sit down and listen, I used to dream big but now I don't remember those visions, Nothing wrong with being an everyday citizen, But I feel it in my heart like something is missing, Clocking in seems a waste of the talent I was given, I wrestle with myself inside my head, My confidence backed into a corner by doubt and dread, So I end up hiding in bed, Having anxiety attacks when I should be writing instead, Nobody sees the blood that I've bled, Nobody wipes away the tears that I've shed, I know the way that I feel isn't the norm, But deep inside I don't want to conform, I just want to live life and do my own thing, For once I wanna do something besides fight through the pain, Tired of living from paycheck to paycheck, Work myself to death to just barely pay rent, For once can it just be money well spent, I just want to be independent, I just want to feed my family, I have no malicious intent, I'll buy a used car and a modest house, I don't need fame, glory, or clout, Those superficial dreams is not what I'm about, I just want to take the higher route, I just want to defeat the demons of fear and doubt, I just want to make it and figure my life out, I'm going to remain positive, because this is my life and I'll choose how to live it, I will take the talent that I've been given, I'll work with it until I find what's missing, I'll stay on my grind, I'll stay focused and driven, I'll pour my heart out to whoever will listen, I'll do as I please I don't need their permission, I'm tired of always giving up, always coming in last and I've had enough, When I'm rich I wont forget where I came from, From now on I won't quit until the games won.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.