Poets logo

You Didn’t Know Me

A poem

By Rasma RaistersPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
3

I thought our love was eternal

I thought our love was forever

then I had a dream

where you no longer knew me

*

you told me –

that you’d recognize me

if I was a blooming flower

or a graceful tree

or a crystal clear refrain

from a beloved song of long ago

*

I was a blooming flower

you didn’t notice my beauty

I was a graceful tree

you just kept on walking by

I was a crystal clear refrain

but you no longer knew the words

*

Would you perhaps recognize me

as a different blooming flower?

as another graceful tree?

as a crystal clear refrain of a new song?

*

I became a chrysanthemum

you were searching for a rose

I was an apple tree

you were gazing at a birch

I was a sweet old song

you heard a pulsating beat

*

you made me into a wilting daisy

a sad and weary oak tree

an old-fashioned love song

and left me behind

as you went on your way

*

How will you recognize me

when in my dream you don’t even know me?

art
3

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    I liked your poem. These lines particularly: "I became a chrysanthemum you were searching for a rose I was an apple tree you were gazing at a birch" Isn't it interesting how different someone we know (and even love) in our waking lives can become something completely different in dreams?!

  • Manisha Dhalani12 days ago

    Very beautifully written. I enjoyed this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.