Poets logo

Not Another Poem!

Nothing personal, just one person's opinion.

By Mark GagnonPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
11
Not Another Poem!
Photo by Ruan Richard Rodrigues on Unsplash

Not another poem.

This can’t be true.

Every new story notice I get,

Leaves me disappointed and upset.

I hope for a story,

600 words or more,

But what I uncover is 50 to 100

Rarely higher than fourscore.

With poems of old

The words would at least rhyme.

Unfortunately, that’s no longer necessary,

Why bother?

Why take the time?

Spend 20 minutes and get a top-story pay

Or spend 2 or more hours and watch your work fade away.

I’m not whining,

I’m just stating a fact.

Please, please, please, bring the prose back!

social commentary
11

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 days ago

    I can meet you in the middle with short prose 😁😊🤔🧐

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    Should I take this personally? ;) Okay, I promise prose professionally processed post-haste!

  • Lamar Wiggins21 days ago

    I prefer stories too but always have to take a stab at some of these poetry challenges. It does seem like it's the dominating genre on here. Which I guess isn't a terrible thing. So yeah, Bring back the prose!!!

  • For what it's worth, I spend the same amount of time to write and proofread my poems, stories and articles. They all take me 1 week, sometimes more 😅 Anyway, looks like you're in luck because my next piece is a story. Unfortunately it's only 366 words, not 600 or more. Sorry Mark hehehehe

  • John Cox23 days ago

    The contrarian poet. Well, I write mostly prose and often longer than 600 words. If you're a sucker for prose punishment I even wrote one with 10,000! I have written a poem here and there, so you may want to avoid them since they don't rhyme (mostly).

  • Donna Fox (HKB)23 days ago

    well, well, well.... look who got into the poetry game!!! Looks like you had some fun with this one!! I love the nah-sayer but also show off kind of attitude this presents with in my mind!! Great work Mark!

  • D. J. Reddall23 days ago

    I am bit baffled by the mercurial tastes of the contemporary reader: a 3000 word analysis of Shelley's fiction, influenced by the ideas and arguments of Aristotle? Too long, boring and pretentious. A haiku? Laughably brief and banal. I am about to post an ekphrastic sonnet, but in your honor, what follows it will be a short story.

  • Shirley Belk23 days ago

    I will see what I can do! lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.