Poets logo

Ode to Keys

Apologies to Joyce Kilmer

By Mark GagnonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Ode to Keys
Photo by Zan on Unsplash

I think that I shall never see

A tool as useful as a key.

A key that when it's placed at rest

Sits uncomplaining in a pocket or on a desk.

A key that turns a lock’s tumblers from within

And saves me from calling out, open up, let me in.

Yes, poems are written by hair-brained people like me

But only a locksmith can make a key.

humor
5

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    I know you think you're no poet, but this was some fun wordplay!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    What a great ode to a key, though we are all hair-brained???😂😂

  • Glad I could brighten your day a little bit

  • Hair-brained hahahahahahhahahahaha! That made me laugh so much! Loved your ode!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Mark, this was clever and fun and definitely smile-worthy! I can tell you had some fun with this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.