Poets logo

Not All That Glitters

Short and Sweet

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Thirdman: https://www.pexels.com/photo/a-romantic-couple-holding-hands-on-a-wooden-dock-8920551/

In a worn, warm nest,

we plan a life of sure and dull.

And you ask if -

Do I not want gilt and gold?

I want gold from none but you.

Give me all of your dull,

your drab,

your sure and neat if you can't give me gold.

Give me your fair days,

and your poor days,

if they come more than your good days.

Give me your hand.

Just your hand,

and I will want for no more than this;

your skin and heat,

and the wisp of air from your lips.

Give me just this,

and I can dig my love up from the deep,

like a rock,

and wash away the grit.

For you I can make it glow,

and put it at your feet,

with awe.

You can't see that you make gold from nowt but love.

But I do.

I see you.

love poems
6

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz10 months ago

    I would love to be able to write a poem like this at least once. So beautiful.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous and I want to give it heart after heart. Just amazing work. This could be a wedding vow. I love it so much. "You can't see that you make gold from nowt but love."

  • Such a Beautiful Piece❤️📝❗

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Damn! Speechless I am! Breathtaking this is! You're making the challenge your own with poems like this!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    This is absolutely stunning. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.